Minutes Cass County Board of Supervisors Tuesday, June 11, 2024

The Cass County Board of Supervisors met in special session at 9:01 a.m. in the courthouse board room with members present: Steve Baier, chair; Stephen Green, Wendy Richter, Mark O'Brien, and Bernard Pettinger. Absent: none.

Pettinger moved, Green second, to adopt the agenda. All ayes. Motion carried.

O'Brien moved, Pettinger second, to approve the May 31, 2024 minutes. All ayes. Motion carried.

At 9:04 a.m., the Board of Supervisors of Cass County, Iowa, sitting as a Board of Canvassers, proceeded to canvass the June 4, 2024 primary election pursuant to the provisions of §43.49 of the Code of Iowa. After inspection of the returns, the following results were determined:

Office	Republican	Votes	Democratic	Votes	Libertarian	Votes
U.S. Representative	Zach Nunn	469	Lanon Baccam	94	No Nominee	
3rd District			Melissa Vine	63		
	Scattering	4	Scattering	0	Scattering	2
State Representative	Thomas Jay Moore	464	No Nominee		No Nominee	
District 18	Scattering	3	Scattering	10	Scattering	1
County Supervisor	Stephen S Green	73	No Nominee		No Nominee	
District 1	Scattering	2	Scattering	2	Scattering	2
County Supervisor	Steve Baier	74	No Nominee		No Nominee	
District 4	Scattering	2	Scattering	2	Scattering	0
County Supervisor	J Ford Lillard	31	Phyllis Stakey	44	No Nominee	
District 5	Bernard Pettinger	85				
	Scattering	0	Scattering	0	Scattering	0
County Auditor	Kathy Somers	446	No Nominee		No Nominee	
	Scattering	12	Scattering	8	Scattering	2
County Sheriff	John Westering	497	No Nominee		No Nominee	
	Scattering	2	Scattering	9	Scattering	2

Write-ins receiving less than 5% of the ballots cast are listed as "Scattering."

See official canvass for complete detail of write-in candidates.

Write-in candidates may obtain the party's nomination to office if the candidate receives votes equal to at least 35% of the total votes cast for all of that party's candidates for that office in the last preceding primary for which the party had candidates on the ballot for that office (lowa Code 43.66).

In accordance with Iowa Code §43.62, candidates nominated for county offices, and offices for which no nomination was made by a political party, include:

Office	Republican	Democratic	Libertarian
Supervisor, District 1	Stephen S Green	No Nominee	No Nominee
Supervisor, District 4	Steve Baier	No Nominee	No Nominee
Supervisor, District 5	Bernard Pettinger	Phyllis Stakey	No Nominee
County Auditor	Kathy Somers	No Nominee	No Nominee
County Sheriff	John Westering	No Nominee	No Nominee

The chair declared the canvass completed and authorized the commissioner of elections to forward the appropriate abstracts to the secretary of state and party chairpersons, and to place the countynominated candidates on the 2024 general election ballot.

Pettinger moved, Green second, to approve Resolution 2024-18 Appropriating \$45,000 in ARPA funds to City of Lewis to Purchase an Ambulance. Ayes: Baier, Pettinger, Green, Richter, O'Brien. Nays: None. Motion carried.

O'Brien moved, Green second, to issue a county credit card to Sheriff's Deputy Cameron Ward. All ayes. Motion carried.

Green moved, Richter second, to approve the Treasurer's Drive Examiner/Office Assistant hire at \$20.00 per hour, starting June 17, 2024. All ayes. Motion carried.

Trent Wolken, County Engineer, reviewed current road and equipment projects.

Pettinger moved, Green second, to appoint Mark O'Brien as liaison to the conservation board. All ayes. Motion carried. Pettinger moved, O'Brien second to appoint Steve Green as alternate to the conservation board. All ayes. Motion carried.

Committee reports: Richter on tourism and Healthy Cass; Green on landfill and public safety; Baier on Golden Hills.

At 10:19 a.m. Pettinger moved, Green second, to adjourn. All ayes. Meeting adjourned.

Next meeting June 18, 2024.